All Is Coming (back)

Yesterday I was given mayurasana. That means I am now back to the last pose I was working on before I left for India last year. It feels like an accomplishment. For me it represents some kind of victory. A victory over myself, over my habitual negative thoughts and behaviours. My dedication to my practice defies many things I’ve always thought to be true about myself, such as being lazy and a quitter. It has been extremely challenging getting my practice back after the lengthy hiatus I took after Mysore. When I got back to my mat in May I couldn’t get through the vinyasas of primary series. Urdhva dhanurasana was incredibly uncomfortable and drop backs were a fantasy. My bandhas were non-existant. I’m still not back to where I was in terms of strength and flexibility, but it’s coming. Slowly and with effort, it is coming.

1 Comment

  1. globie said,

    November 6, 2014 at 3:36 pm

    Congratulations on getting it back.
    I can certainly empathise, having fractured my arm and had 4 operations in the last 18 months to fix it. It’s been the strength and stamina that have been hardest to recover, though my dropbacks are still hit n miss and as for standing up again, something I worked oh so hard to learn to do in the first place, still a dream.


Leave a Reply

