Barfing, practicing, and dreaming

It’s amazing how time flies by. I didn’t realize how long it had been since I’d posted!I had an evil stomach bug last week and only did Sunday and Friday practices. It was a rough four days in between! We’re currently having a snowstorm here, so I didn’t make it to led this morning because of transportation issues. I was kind of sad to miss it, especially because I can’t make it up with Saturday mysore this week, thanks to work.

Practice has been fun this week. I think I am making minimal progress on pincha, but I’m enjoying the challenge of it. Lots of little aches and pains to contend with this week. Tight hips are not helped by this cold weather (and the AYO room is not nearly warm enough for me!), so leg behind head poses are a bit of a struggle, especially dwi pada. I don’t think I’m any closer on the final tittibhasana. How the heck do you keep your balance while you sort out where all of your parts are supposed to be situated?! Kapotasana has also been a bit of a struggle lately. Just when I thought I had it, how typical. I guess I’m kind of used to being split now, but there are still days when I would rather do primary. The thing about primary is that you can back off if needed. You can still be doing the pose, but make it less physically taxing. In intermediate, the poses are a different sort. Just to be in some of them is a huge challenge and they are sort of all or nothing (think dwi pada). Maybe this is just me?

I got my MRI results back and things aren’t great. No tear (yay!) but four other issues. I understand two- I have tendonitis and fluid build up in my knee. There was also something about my patella and he said it was chronic and degenerative (boo!). My doctor is pretty crap at explaining things and summed it up by telling me it was too complicated to Google and that he’d refer me to the sports medicine clinic. I’m waiting to hear from them so I can figure out what the next step will be.

In other news, my husband has quit being a stay-at-home ashtangi spouse and started to join the fun! He’s coming on Sundays, as of two weeks ago. It’s been exciting for me, but I’m trying to restrain my enthusiasm for fear of putting him off! He enjoyed last week, and I hope he’ll catch the fever and next thing he’ll be planning yoga trips with me. Fingers crossed!

2 Comments

  1. Graziano Galati said,

    December 21, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Nice to read you again. My Ashtanga trip will be to Rome in July at one of Lino Miele’s studios, and then Tuscani with Sadie Nardini for a week’s immersion in Core Strength Vinyasa. Paid for the whole thing already. Hope the universe cooperates.

    • December 21, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      That sounds absolutely amazing!! I’ve never been to Italy but I’d love to go! I’m hoping this is going to be my year for India! Fingers crossed.


Leave a Reply

