SPLIT!

Big news in the world of my practice today, y’all. As of Sunday I am split. Eeek! Feelings on this? Mainly fear. Today I got dwi pada, in which I look like a crazed hunchback and find terribly hard. I will do that plus yoganidrasana starting tomorrow, then Sunday it is goodbye to primary (tear!) and hello to splitsville. I thought this wasn’t going to happen until my knee healed (which feels far away) but my teacher came over after I finished eka pada and asked if I felt like trying another pose, obviously I said yes. I’ll let you know how it goes. It feels a little frightening right now. She was all cool talking about taking me up to pincha in the next little while, while I was kind of nervous. This is a big change. One very happy point for me is bye-bye to utthita hasta padangusthasana, except for Friday’s!

I don’t do it like the boss, that’s for sure!
Picture from: http://grimmly2007.blogspot.ca/2012/01/sharaths-primary-series-dvd-plus-his.html

In knee news, I finally saw my doctor yesterday and am now waiting for an MRI appointment to see what’s up in there. He wants me to do physio after we get a diagnosis. I guess that means I’m not going to be pain-free for awhile, in his opinion. Maybe only doing second will be good for healing, because there’s less stress on the knees in the poses. We’ll see. Send my sad little joint some love, if you have a little to spare.

It’s a whole new world starting Sunday! Stay tuned, friends!

 

Leave a Reply

