On being a crappy yogi and teaching new students

I’ve been very lax about my practice journaling, but I just haven’t felt inspired to write. I’ve just been slogging away, as usual. There have been a couple of somewhat exciting things that have happened in my practice lately. On Sunday, I managed to get myself into dwi pada and lower down to bind for supta kurmasana, finally! I was excited, but it’s not as fun to be excited when there’s no one to share it with.

I want to believe I looked a little like this. That’s the beauty of not actually being able to see yourself during practice!
Taken from: http://mayalassiter.com

I also have been managing to jump into bakasana most days, which gets some sort of enthusiastic exclamation from me every time. I can’t seem to help it.  I landed it on my second attempt this morning, which was a record! Since coming back from the rib popping, kapotasana is a whole new experience. While I still find it a cruel and hateful pose in theory, the process of actually doing it is not the injury inducing, breathe holding awfulness it once was. I’m grabbing mid-foot now, and I think I could get heel, but I always just want to drop my elbows so that I can get my five breaths done and get out again. I know I should be taking more time to do it properly but it’s not the most pleasant of experiences. I don’t think it’s anyone’s most favorite posture. Drop backs have been feeling pretty great lately and I’m getting more consistent with my control. No ankle holding since Toronto, but I’m not anxious to do it again so that’s a-ok. I’m feeling pretty good about my asana practice, although I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t itching to get eka pada a little. I hate admitting it, but it’s true. I had this little thing in the back of my mind when I went for the first part of my YTT that I would be split by the time I went back for session two. No way is that happening, and it was crazy to even entertain the thought. I want to stop setting accidental asana goals (because yes, I am aware that the asana is not the point), but I’m not even doing it on purpose. I don’t even really want to do the next postures, they seem hard, and the only bonus would be having a shorter practice. Anyway, I guess I’m a crappy yogi, but I’m pretty sure only about five people read this, so just don’t tell on me guys, ok? 😉
In other news, I’ve been teaching (I’ll try not to leak my horrid non-yoginess into them)! I now have two students that I’m giving private instruction to every week. It’s been really fun so far and I love the one on one format. One of my students is a complete beginner in her early 60’s and the other is a good friend with a little yoga experience. It’s amazing to me the things I have retained over the years and I hear myself explaining something or giving a cue and I’m surprised. I suddenly feel more confident, now that I’m discovering that I’m not as clueless as I was anxious that I might be. The students I’m teaching are fairly straight forward, no serious physical limitations to work with, so I feel capable enough. It is driving me to learn more though, so I feel confident to teach anyone. Making money for doing something that I love so much is a great feeling! And obviously I wasn’t busy enough with my two current jobs, so I needed something to fill all that spare time I had!

I’m working tonight and won’t be off in time for led tomorrow morning. I’m cheating and meeting some yogi friends for post-practice tea anyway! Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

