A year of practice and a weekend of family

A very important anniversary came and went last week and I think it bears mentioning. June 26th, 2011 was my very first mysore practice ever (at AYCT) and the 28th was my first practice at AYO. Frankly, I didn’t think I’d like it. I was intimidated and I thought the idea of doing the same practice every morning was dull. And then there was the early morning issue! My, how things have changed. It amazes me that I’ve stuck with it, and, after a bit of a touch-and-go phase during our courtship, I’ve fallen madly, deeply in love with it. I’ve heard all of those ashtanga clichés and I rolled my eyes a little in the beginning, but I’ve discovered that the more your commitment to the practice grows, the more you start to experience them for yourself and suddenly you’re the one making people inwardly groan with your earnest monologues about the life changing journey of daily practice. Now here I am, it’s one of the most important things in my life. Who would have thought?

One of the amazing things I’m grateful for in my life is having someone to share my yogic journey with. My sister-in-law, who was the reason I went to that first mysore practice, is here this weekend and we got to practice next to each other this morning. One of my most favorite things. The shared energy was a huge help this morning, after a long night at work, and I had a great practice. I did my full practice, right up to ardha matsyendrasana. My sis-in-law assisted me in supta vajrasana and I got the usual back bend assist, but otherwise I wasn’t touched the whole time. Almost had supta kurmasana and kapo was ok. It was kind of an awesome morning. No screwing around, just focus. I think my jump backs are getting a little better. I need to work more on core strength, though. I really enjoy having someone to dissect my asanas with, and my sister-in-law and I do it every phone call, every visit; both of us sharing frustrations and mini-triumphs. While asana is certainly not all our yoga is composed of, we both really enjoy picking apart our experiences of the physical practice, which definitely provides much fodder for discussion.

Working tonight as well, but looking forward to practicing with my favorite yoga buddy again tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

