Worn out

Wednesday already? I never complain about time dragging with my crazy schedule, that’s for sure. The last two mornings I’ve been trying to get to practice early due to early starts at work and it has been exhausting! I’m sure I’ve mentioned the fact that I am NOT a morning person. In fact, I hate getting out of bed unless I’m on vacation. Before my mysore practice days I never got up before 8 am, if I could possibly help it. I would sleep until the last possible moment, calculating and recalculating precisely how many minutes I would need to get prepped for my day so that I could hit the snooze button a few times. All the has changed. I basically never sleep in, with six mornings of practice and juggling three jobs. Who is this woman?!

I’m not sure if it has been the sleep deprivation, or the addition of two poses this week, but I have found practice grueling the last two days. Even getting through primary has me weak and dripping with sweat, which is unusual. I know I’ve been working hard, but I don’t think it’s been that different from last week in terms of effort. By the time I got to krounchasana I felt really tired, then still had to get through six more postures. I almost cut parsva dhanurasana short this morning. After ustrasana I thought “thank god I don’t have to try to do another pose,” especially considering what the next pose is. I’m sure stamina will come in a  couple of weeks and it will all feel more routine again, but for now I am just plain worn out. Despite the wussiness, I still had some really great drop backs! I’m definitely developing more control and confidence in both going back and standing. It’s a fine balance between too much push-off the hands to get up, and too little. Everyday I still feel this weird anxious anticipation before I start my urdhva dhanurasanas, but it’s always fine. I haven’t broken myself yet. I don’t think I had a  single assist today besides my back bends. I was just left to struggle through it and deal with myself.

I’m going to try to get a good sleep tonight so hopefully I’ll have enough gas in the tank tomorrow. There’s still one more day of mysore before led on Friday. Another extra early practice for me tomorrow! Come on body, we can do this!

3 Comments

  1. globie said,

    March 1, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    You sound like me, I love my sleep and never get up until I have to.

    I wish I could crack the standing up from backbend code, once every few weeks I manage it, but no idea why.

  2. March 1, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    There are quite a few other poses I’d love to “crack the code” for, but I suppose it will come in time. It’s odd that you can manage the standing sometimes, but not others. I wouldn’t presume to have any tips that you haven’t heard already. I suppose we all have our challenges.

  3. globie said,

    March 2, 2012 at 2:13 am

    I struggle to do it straight off, usually I drop back on to a couple of blocks and stand up from them, then take one away, some days stage 3 happens and I get up from the floor, but I seem to need the graduation to train my body what it needs to do and to remember to inhale as I come up


Leave a Reply

