Gold star week

Despite my hectic work schedule, I have made it to every practice the last week. Today I went on no sleep after a night shift, and I will do the same tomorrow. Unpleasant for my body, to say the least, but I do notice that I’m a bit looser in my sleepless state. The last week has had its ups and downs, but I haven’t at all felt like writing about them. I finally felt that I’m making a minuscule amount of progress with my hips and the circulation isn’t being cut off in lotus this week. Today I actually jumped back from lotus for the first time, which was impossible before because of the tight squeeze my legs were in. Encouraging, for sure. I got an assist in bhekasana for the first time today and it was so helpful! I also got another pose today, dhanurasana. I’ve never been much of a dhanurasana fan, so we’ll see how I feel about it now that it will be part of the daily routine. I’m moving along in intermediate fairly quickly, but I’m sure that will end soon as the series becomes significantly more challenging in a few poses. My practice is slowly getting longer with these new poses, and I’m anticipating (read: dreading) having to get to practice earlier in order to have time for full closing and a reasonable savasana. It will be much easier once bicycle weather is here and I am no longer a slave to the public transit schedule, or the chauffeuring of my husband. Plus my body will arrive to practice nice and warm. Come on spring, don’t leave us waiting too long.

3 Comments

  1. globie said,

    February 23, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    That’s hard doing practice after a night shift. My first week back working I have found doing practice really hard.

    • February 23, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      It would certainly take adjustment after being off. On no sleep, it’s tough getting started. I admit I didn’t go the following day, after nigt shift number 2. Even ashtangis need to take cae of themselves sometimes, right?

  2. globie said,

    February 26, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    Definitely you know when the body needs a break.

    I’ll see how week 2 goes and how practice turns out. Only getting to the Shala once or twice a week at most and having to practice at home makes getting on the mat a mental challenge.


Leave a Reply

