Primary series? Check!

This morning I was given the last pose of primary series, setu bandhasana. I’m pretty happy about it. I know there are five other series’, but I feel pretty proud of all the work I’ve done so far. It was also a reminder that this journey is unending. The completion of primary does not mean I am finished with primary and probably never will be. There will always be something to improve, and right now there is a lot to improve! The next new challenge is starting intermediate, which I hope will be just around the corner.

I got to practice a little later than usual this morning, but I decided it would be ok to get to work a little late so I wouldn’t have to rush. My breathing was nice and even today and I tried hard to match movement to breath. It was helpful, I felt steady and calm. I didn’t try to put my arms through lotus in garbha and I don’t think I will again for a while. I think I just need to wait until my hips are more open first so that I can safely tighten lotus. I’m very nervous about the knee issue. I had a  good supta kurmasana today, without adjustment. Feet touching, head to feet, fingers of both hands at the sides of my spine. My weird hamstring thing popped again, which was helpful. I have no trouble balancing in the other roll up postures nearing the end of the series, but for some reason urdhva mukha paschimottanasana won’t balance, I always have to give it a second (or third) try. My first few drop backs were rough again today, but I stuck with it, and my teacher gave me some help, reminding me to stop thinking so much. I did about five or six  and the last couple were great. I have to take it slow from navasana to supta kurmasana – my core is still weaker than I would like and those jumps from bhuja and supta k take a lot out of me. I also need a break after standing from urdhva dhanurasana, (it’s tough!) but my stamina is improving.

Looking forward to practice tomorrow, as usual. My first day with the whole first series!

1 Comment

  1. January 17, 2012 at 4:15 am

    Congrats! I know there’s five other series, but let’s face it – most people never really complete the first one, so I think you can be proud!


Leave a Reply

