Starting the year off right

I can’t think of a better way to start 2012 than practicing. I took two days off for healing and was back on the mat this morning. It felt great. Still having shoulder pain, still having knee pain, very unfocused with my drishti, and basically still struggling in many poses, BUT on my mat nonetheless. I was proud of myself. I even managed to do chakrasana today for the first time since I hurt my neck a few months ago. I probably had the deepest baddha konasana ever today, thanks to a great assist. My shoulder was twinging a but but I did my drop backs anyway. The going back seems to be getting more controlled and feels ok, the coming up is still a bit of a mess. My final drop-back (the assisted one) was super deep and I felt a bit like I might throw up or split in half, but I didn’t so it was a success.

It is hard not to have asana related goals for this year, and I would really like to finish primary and start intermediate. I would also love to have a more comfortable lotus and no more knee issues. I know, practice and all is coming. I am learning patience and compassion for my body slowly. Quiet down, ego. I am also working on doing some yoga philosophy reading. Lots to ponder and lots of work to do. Luckily I enjoy the journey of self-discovery and the challenges that arise on the path. I have confidence that 2012 will be an amazing year in my life and in my practice. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

